To assess the behaviour of hybrid Steel Fibre Reinforced Concrete (SFRC) at in-situ conditions, a slab-on-grade was cast using manufactured and Recycled Tyre Steel Fibres (RTSF). The slab covered an area of 1200 m2 and was a 200 mm thick. (FP7 project Anagennisi – Innovative reuse of all tyre components in concrete)


Conference segment covers durability aspects of construction material in a variety of structures and harsh environments, maintenance and management of civil infrastructure and sustainable repair, rehabilitation and retrofitting. Among the others, the topics to be addressed are characterization of innovative and traditional durable materials, diagnosis of structures including service life design, seismic safety assessment, fire resistance, repair and conservation of heritage structures, advanced materials for structural rehabilitation, strengthening methods and case studies.

Contributions to the conference segment may be within – but are not limited to – the following topics:

  • Durability aspects of materials and structures
    • Novel materials for improved durability
    • Durability issues in a variety of structures and harsh environments
    • Prediction and modelling of long-term durability
    • Service life assessment and Life cycle cost
    • Sustainable construction
  • Maintenance of civil infrastructure
    • Advanced inspection and non-destructive testing
    • Novel smart sensors and systems
    • Remote monitoring system
    • Data transmission, acquisition and processing
    • System identification and damage detection
    • Condition assessment and safety evaluation
    • Practical applications and case studies
  • Sustainable repair, rehabilitation and retrofitting
    • Repair methods, materials and systems
    • Damage control
    • Novel materials and methods in strengthening of structures
    • Application of FRP and external prestressing for strengthening of structures
    • Extending the service life of structures
    • Case studies on repair, rehabilitation and retrofitting of structures


Ana Baričević, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Marija Jelčić Rukavina, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Domagoj Damanović, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Maurizio Guadagnini, University of Sheffield, United Kingdom


Mark Alexander, University of Cape Town, South Africa
Miguel Azenha, University of Mihno, Portugal
Yunus Ballim, University of the Witwatersrand, S. Africa
Farid Benboudjema, ENS Cachan, France
Piotr Berkowski, Wroclaw University of Science and Technology, Poland
Hans Beushausen, University of Cape Town, South Africa
Lars Bostrom, RISE, Sweden
Jorge Branco, University of Mihno, Portugal
Matthieu Briffaut, Laboratoire 3SR, France
Alvaro Cunha, University of Porto, Portugal
Christian Christodoulou, AECOM, United Kingdom
Meri Cvetkovska, Ss. Cyril and Methodius University, Macedonia
Gianmarco De Felice, Roma Tre University, Italy
Geert De Schutter, Ghent University, Gelgium
Emmanuel Denarie, EPFL, Switzerland
Guido De Roeck, KU Leuven, Belgium
Josée Duchesne, University Laval, Canada
Ivan Duvnjak, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Berhard Elsener, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Eduardo M.R. Fairbairn, COPPE-UFRJ, Brazil
Miguel Ferreira, Technical Research Centre of Finland, Finland
Raoul Francois, Toulouse University, France
Josip Galić, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Christoph Gehlen, Technical University of Munich, Germany
Mette Geiker, NTNU, Norway
Branko Glisic, Princeton University, USA
Arlindo Gonçalves, LNEC, Portugal
Kei-ichi Imamoto, Tokyo University of Science, Japan
Jin Wei‐Liang, Zhejiang University, China
Harald Justnes, Sintef, Norway
Agnieszka Klemm, Glasgow Caledonian University, UK
Joško Krolo, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Arkadiusz Kwiecien, Cracow University of Technology, Poland
Mirjana Laban, University of Novi Sad, Serbia
Damir Lazarević, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Maria Giuseppina Limongelli, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Barbara Lubelli, Delft University, The Netherlands
Mirjana Malešev, Faculty of Technical Sciences,  Serbia
Kyriacos Neocleous, Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus
Ivanka Netinger Grbeša, University of Osijek, Croatia
Takafumi Noguchi, University of Tokyo, Japan
Jan Olek, Purdue University, West Lafayette, USA
Vagelis Papadakis, University of Patras, Greece
Ioanna Papayianni, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
Alejandro Perez Caldentey, Fhecor, Spain
Kypros Pilakoutas, University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
Giovanni Plizzari, University of Brescia, Italy
Juraj Pojatina, Studio Arhing Ltd, Croatia
Meera Ramesh, University of Minho, Portugal
Pierre Rossi, IFSTTAR France
Inge Rörig-Dalgaard, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Aljoša Šajna, Slovenian National Building and Civil Engineering Institute, Slovenia
Jay Sanjayan, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
Ana Skender, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Mohammed Sonebi, Queen’s University Belfast, UK
Irina Stipanović Oslaković, Infra Plan Konzalting, Croatia
Merima Šahinagić-Isović, Univerzitet “Džemal Bijedić” Mostar, BiH
Ivana Štimac Grandić, University of Rijeka, Croatia
Luping Tang, Chalmers University, Sweden
Michael Thomas, University of New Brunswick, Canada
Jean-Michel Torrenti, IFSTTAR, France
François Toutlemonde, IFSTTAR, France
Thanasis Triantafillou, University Patras, Greece
Tamon Ueda, Hokkaido University, Japan
Johan Vyncke, BBRI, Belgium
Dunja Vla, Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc., USA
Børge Johannes Wigum, HeidelbergCement Northern Europe, Norway